I’ve always been told that it’s hard to understand
When God needs you, and when he doesn’t.
I wonder where He is in this land,
And if He cares where I am.

I grew up with a priest who wasn’t really my father,
But in a way I had three.
I had the man who bore me, for he was my father,
I had the priest who raised me, for he was like a father,
And I had my Lord God, for he was and is my heavenly Father.

For most of my young life,
I never expected to know
Whether God would see me through my strife
Or leave me to be alone.

Yet one night the priest called me to his room,
So there I went, not once, but thrice!
And each time he turned me away,
Saying he had no need for me to satisfy.

But finally he realized,
I had really heard a voice.
He told me it was the Lord Jesus Christ,
The one I love the most.

So I went back to bed,
And when I heard Him speak,
I said I was there,
And listened with a thirsting need.

He told me of the marvelous plans he had for me,
But also of death and danger to come.
He said not to worry for the priest,
For He would take him home.

But as for his sons,
Their deaths would be tragic.
With none
To witness their struggle.

And when the next morning came,
To the priest I explained,
All the wonder and troubles
That were to come.

Everything’s all right now,
And God’s still with me.
My name is Samuel,
From Israel.

 

gbu,

Christrocks

 

